Advent 2022

Bold Merry Christmas Quote Nativity Phone Wallpaper (1)

Advent simply means "coming" or "arrival". It refers to the anticipation of God's people for the birth of the promised savior. It helps us look backward and see what an incredibly fulfilling moment it was when the Son of God came in flesh. It also helps us look forward and long for the day when he will return in full glory and usher in the new heavens and the new earth. As we focus on the first coming, it ought to stoke the longing in our hearts for the second coming of our savior.

Here are a few suggested Advent devotionals:

If you'd like to adjust your daily Bible reading to reflect the Advent season, here's a suggested schedule:

  • Thursday, December 1, 2022: Jeremiah 31:31–34
  • Friday, December 2, 2022: Hebrews 8:1-13
  • Saturday, December 3, 2022: Isaiah 11:1–10
  • Sunday, December 4, 2022: Micah 5:2–5
  • Monday, December 5, 2022: Zechariah 9:9–13
  • Tuesday, December 6, 2022: Jeremiah 23:1–6
  • Wednesday, December 7, 2022: Ezekiel 34:11–16
  • Thursday, December 8, 2022: Isaiah 9:2–7
  • Friday, December 9, 2022: Isaiah 53:1-12
  • Saturday, December 10, 2022: Romans 5:12–17
  • Sunday, December 11, 2022: Hebrews 1:1–4
  • Monday, December 12, 2022: Isaiah 61:1–4
  • Tuesday, December 13, 2022: Colossians 1:15–20
  • Wednesday, December 14, 2022: Philippians 2:1–11
  • Thursday, December 15, 2022: Luke 1:26–38
  • Friday, December 16, 2022: Luke 1:39–80
  • Saturday, December 17, 2022: Luke 2:1–7
  • Sunday, December 18, 2022: Luke 2:8–20
  • Monday, December 19, 2022: Matthew 2:1–12
  • Tuesday, December 20, 2022: Luke 4:16–21
  • Wednesday, December 21, 2022: Revelation 21:1–5
  • Thursday, December 22, 2022: Galatians 4:4–7
  • Friday, December 23, 2022: Romans 5:6–8
  • Saturday, December 24, 2022: Colossians 2:13–15
  • Sunday, December 25, 2022: 2 Corinthians 5:16–21